Fire and explosion in Sita Kunda, 2022

Article

July 3, 2022

On the night of June 4, 2022, a fire and explosion occurred in a container depot in Sita Kunda Subdistrict. Chittagong District Bangladesh At least 41 people were killed and more than 450 were injured in a crash at a BMW container depot in Kadamrasul district in Sita Kunda Subdistrict. A fire broke out in the loading area at about 21:00 BST (15:00 UTC), followed by a violent explosion at around 23:45 BST (17:45 UTC), which prompted more explosions throughout the area. warehouse from chemical ignition in warehouse The blast affected buildings several kilometers away. One eyewitness reported that the explosion caused "rain of fireballs". Bangladesh fire chiefs said there was hydrogen peroxide in the warehouse, which made controlling the fire difficult. The fire continues to spread and the Bangladesh Army has sent troops to join the fire.

References